The Northeast's Premier Mini Sprint Series
About Mini Sprints
News & Notes
Race Results
Marketing Partners
Member Info
Track Info
Contact Us

Utter / Latour Score $1,000 ELS Opener

Congratulations to Ken Latour & Ralph Utter from MEM & CNYMS!

Malta, NY - Ralph Utter, Jr. made history Saturday night at the Albany-Saratoga Speedway by winning three inaugural events all at once. Utter claimed the first ever Empire Lightning Sprint Nationals – worth $1,000. This race was also the first for the Empire Lightning Sprint organization and took place on Albany-Saratoga’s season opener for their Saturday season.

At the drop of the green Scott Goodrich utilized his pole starting spot to take the early lead. Utter meanwhile was on the move from his fourth starting position. Before the first lap was completed he had moved into second and was looking for Goodrich to show him an opening.

That opening came on lap four and Utter took full advantage of it – taking the lead exiting turn two. From there he was untouchable, powering the K&S powered, Bailey Chassis #36 home for the historic win. The win was the first for car owner Ken Latour.

Goodrich came home second with Doug Norrie third. Norrie had a strong run, finishing third after starting the event from the ninth position. Mike Kiser would finish in the fourth position with Jon Moore fifth.

A total of 26 cars entered the event with heat races being won by Mike Kiser, Jon Moore and Doug Norrie.

The Empire Lightning Sprints will return to action on Saturday June 6th at the Albany-Saratoga Speedway. For more information on the inaugural season of ELS action, please consult the website at

1st. Ralph Utter Jr. # 36,2nd. Scott Goodrich # 30,3rd. Doug Norrie # 92m,4th Mike Kiser # 99,5th Jon Moore # 18,6th Art Kiser # 29k,7th Don Harvey # 44,8th Justin Phillips # 16,9th Jerry Sehn # 410,10th Fred Hoffman # 13,11th Rick Russell # 76,12th Joe szczapa # 27,13th Joe Askew # 7,14th Will Cassaza # 15,15th John Casazza # 40,16th Ed Cokley # 10,17th Dan Nappi # 12,18th Christian Wright # 22,19th Shaun Gosselin # 26,20th Jamie Kiser # 11,21st Matt Norrie # 14m,22nd Gary Reyer # 4r,23rd Tim Durland # 17,24th Glenn Sullivan # 5,25th Steve Lapine # 61h,26th Dale Friedly Jr. # 20/20 DNS.

Visit A-Verdi Storage Containers online.
Bicknell Race Products
American Suzuki Motor Corporation
In association with Stones Snow Sleds Sodus NY
Dennis Fink Trucking
Visit Mike Emhof Motorsports Sprint car parts
Haskell Motorsports
Broderick Motorsports
Mickeys Racing Videos
sprint41 for all of your sprint car questions
Morlock Media and Photographic