The Northeast's Premier Mini Sprint Series
About Mini Sprints
News & Notes
Race Results
Marketing Partners
Member Info
Track Info
Contact Us

CNYMS Celebrates 2008 Season at Awards Banquet

The 2008 A-Verdi Storage Containers / CNYMS Awards Banquet had a few similarities to 2007, with a few changes to position and the additions of some new names scattered throughout the money list.

For the first time ever in series history, Don Harvey II, of Milford, NY claimed the Championship on the A-Verdi Storage Containers Central New York Mini Sprint Tour making it the third consecutive year. In a year where Don had to use consistency in 2008 as he was shut out of the win column on the tour, Harvey was very gracious when accepting his nearly $1000 cash, contingencies, and beautiful trophy.

“This wasn’t the year I had hoped for in the win column but it still was a great year, to run with drivers like this, in an organization as professional as this, it is a real honor,” said Harvey in front of a packed room at the Racino at Vernon Downs.

2005 Series Champion Mike Kiser, of Cooperstown, NY, placed second in points this year, winning three races, including the season finale at The New Glen Ridge Speedway. It was only 14 points that kept Mike from securing his second CNYMS championship. Kiser would earn himself a hefty sum of nearly $900.00 cash for his efforts. Kiser also picked up the big $1,500 to win program at Albany Saratoga back in July.

Third place finisher in the season long point battle was enough to put Tim Durland atop the Rookie standings as well for 2008. Tim was only a night away from his first win if you look at his final five races with finishes of 5th 4th, 3rd, and 2 seconds before the season came to a conclusion. Along with his trophies, contingencies and cash Tim picked up a cool $600.00.

Using 5 top ten finishes, a fourth and two thirds, Shaun Gosselin had a rough start and finish to the year but had an outstanding middle! For his accomplishments the driver of the Bishop number 26 took home over $380 in cash and contingency awards finishing a very respectable forth in only his second year on tour.

Finishing fifth overall in tour standings in his rookie season, Ralph Utter Jr. gained enough points securing the 1st Runner Up position in the rookie standings. With several heat race wins and only finishing out of the top 10 twice, Ralph put him into contention night in and night out with the Ken Latour owned 36. For his efforts Ralph picked up nearly $400 cash along with contingencies and awards.

Sixth through eleventh in points this year included Denny Lamke, Jerry Sehn, Art Kiser, Justin Phillips, Jon Moore and Rick Russell.

Lori Wallace was honored as the Championship Car Owner of the No. 44, as she led the top-5 non-driver owners in points.

In addition to the money paid out, M&W Aluminum Products, Ultra-Shield Race Products and Mike Emhof Motorsports contributed contingency packages. Jimmy Broderick Motorsports paid out the top three cash awards to the Rookie contenders.

During the ceremony, a special “Dedication to the Sport” award was presented to Series Owner Mike Emhof. On behalf of all the drivers and owners on the CNYMS tour Jimmy Broderick read an emotional letter to the large crowd in attendance. Mike Emhof gave a brief but emotional acceptance of the award.

Guest Speaker, Bruce Richards, promoter of Albany Saratoga and Devil’s Bowl Speedways, spoke of dedication and hard work within the short track racing would survive and be successful. Bruce announced plans to run Mini Sprints and Spec Sprints as part of a Saturday evening program in 2009 at Albany Saratoga Speedway.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, Mike Emhof thanked the Verdi family, Sponsors, Drivers, Owners, Crew members, and special guests as he announced that this would be his last and final event for CNYMS.

2008 A-Verdi Storage Containers CNYMS Awards Banquet
November 22, 2008, Racino at Vernon Downs, Vernon, NY

Top-11 In Points (Money Awarded)-
1. Don Harvey ($950)
2. Mike Kiser ($875)
3. Tim Durland ($600)
4. Shaun Gosselin ($380)
5. Ralph Utter Jr. ($360)
6. Denny Lamke ($310)
7. Jerry Sehn Jr ($275)
8. Art Kiser ($330)
9. Justin Phillips ($275)
10. Jon Moore ($200)
11. Rick Russell ($200)

Top-5 In Owners Points (Money Awarded)-
1. Lori Wallace, Car No. 44, ($200)
2. Tiffany Crandall, Car No. 99, ($150)
3. Steve Gosselin, Car No. 26, ($125)
4. Ken Latour, Car No. 36, ($100)
5. Clayton Macartney, Car No. 20, ($100)

Rookie of the Year Standings-
1. Tim Durland
2. Ralph Utter Jr.
3. Rick Russell

Best Appearing Car and Team: Car No. 44, Don Harvey II
Hard Luck Award: Car No. 16 John and Justin Phillips
Dedication to the Sport: Mike Emhof, presented by Jimmy Broderick

Visit A-Verdi Storage Containers online.
Bicknell Race Products
American Suzuki Motor Corporation
In association with Stones Snow Sleds Sodus NY
Dennis Fink Trucking
Visit Mike Emhof Motorsports Sprint car parts
Haskell Motorsports
Broderick Motorsports
Mickeys Racing Videos
sprint41 for all of your sprint car questions
Morlock Media and Photographic