The Northeast's Premier Mini Sprint Series
About Mini Sprints
News & Notes
Race Results
Marketing Partners
Member Info
Track Info
Contact Us

Harvey Picks Up Win Four with Patience

As proved this past Sunday evening at the CVRA owned and operated Devil’s Bowl Speedway, you don’t always have to have the fastest car to win but you must first finish, to finish first. Don Harvey II picked up his forth win on the A-Verdi Storage Containers / CNYMS tour by staying consistent quick and out of trouble.

The “Young Gun from the East”, Bubba Broderick jumped out to the early lead from his 4th place starting spot in the very first set of corners. Jamie Kiser behind the wheel of the K&S Powersports Rich Wood owned mount was a close 2nd along with pole sitter James Tomlinson. Behind them it was a scramble with tour points leader Harvey settling into 4th from his 3rd row start along with Mike Kiser and Rich Wood doing duty this night in the Ken Latour owned 36.

A quick yellow for the slowing 211 of Gaurino and also the 22 of Corazzo bunched the field on lap 3. Gaurino would continue from the back but Corazzo was sidelined with a mechanical issue. When the filed went back to green it was a wicked pace being set early by Broderick. Lapped traffic came into play by lap 8.

On lap 12 disaster struck for the Broderick Motorsports team. The leader had just passed his teammate on this evening, Denis Fink off turn 4 as well as 2 other mounts. The Youngster then had his car snap loose out from under him in turns 1 & 2 collecting his teammate, and the 21B Canadian runner a first time CNYMS competitor Norman Beudrow. In the process of avoiding the issue was 2nd place running Jamie Kiser who tipped over the 6w. This was the break Harvey was looking for as he maneuvered through the mess and came out the leader.

After going pit side the 6w 5x and 21b returned to the tail of the field to take the green. This may have been well intended but the results were not as the 6w spun in the first set of turns collecting once again the 5x and 21b ending the night for each of them. Sitting in the pits now were both Broderick Motorsports machines “pretty much junk(ed)” as stated by owner Jimmy Broderick

The remaining 6 laps were run without incident to the checkers with Harvey pulling out to his 4th of the season to extend his points lead over the rest of the CNYMS competitors. The “Kid Johnny Gaurino” made steady improvement toward the front picking off 3rd on the last lap.

The Broderick Motorsports $50.00 Hard Charger award was split between Harvey & At Kiser, Gaurino picks up the $25.00 Dry Wash N Guard Waterless Car wash awards, Fred Hoffman picks up the Ultimate Wings $25.00 certificate and Spectro Oils award went to Rich Wood.

CNYMS thanks all of their marketing partners for making this series the premier mini sprint organization in the Northeast. A-Verdi Storage Containers, Suzuki Motors of America and Jack Stones Suzuki, Hoffman Home Transport, Ultimate Wings, Haskell Motorsports, Scott VanAtter and Waterless Car Wash, Team 22 Racing, & Mike Emhof Motorsports, Inc.

“A”-Main: 44-Harvey, 99-M. Kiser, 211-Gaurino, 36-Wood, 21-J. Fink, 29K-A. Kiser, 27T-Tomlinson, 09-Kuerner, 77H-G. Hoffman, 14-Burkert, 21B-Beudrow, 6W-Kiser, 5X-D. Fink, 5-Broderick, 13H-F. Hoffman, 22-Corazzo
Heat Winners: 22-Corazzo & 36-Wood

Stay current with all of the news and notes for CNYMS by logging onto

Visit A-Verdi Storage Containers online.
Bicknell Race Products
American Suzuki Motor Corporation
In association with Stones Snow Sleds Sodus NY
Dennis Fink Trucking
Visit Mike Emhof Motorsports Sprint car parts
Haskell Motorsports
Broderick Motorsports
Mickeys Racing Videos
sprint41 for all of your sprint car questions
Morlock Media and Photographic